Connect with us

News

Stephen King is worried if George R. R. Martin will ever finish Winds of Winter

Published

on

wp1888908-stephen-king-wallpapers-8290852

Fans of George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire have been waiting a long time for his next book, The Winds of Winter. The last A Song of Ice and Fire book hit store shelves in 2011, a full decade ago. Although he updates his fans now and then, the fans are really annoyed as he is taking too long to finish. And the list of angry fans has even expanded to include some famous literary figures. Horror icon Stephen King is nervous he’ll never get to make that return trip to Westeros, as he told fellow author Neil Gaiman in 2012.

Gaiman himself shared this story in his foreword to the illustrated edition of A Storm of Swords, which came out last year. Redditor DsjgOriginal kindly shared the hilarious section for all to enjoy.

The excerpt shows a dialogue between the two literary legends. It ends up with Stephen worrying about the same thing as a lot of A Song of Ice and Fire fans:

stephen-king-is-worried-if-george-r-r-martin-will-ever-finish-winds-of-winter-2148538

“Stephen King: “Hey, Neil. Can I ask you something?”

Neil Gaiman: “Of course.”

King: “You know George R.R. Martin, don’t you? Personally?”

Gaiman: “Yes. We’ve been friends for years now.”

King: “I’d put it off for years, but I started reading A Game of Thrones and now I’m hooked on the books and…what kind of health is he in? I mean, do you think he’s likely to finish them? Before he dies?”

Gaiman: “He’s in good health. He’s going to finish them.”

King: “That’s good to hear. I have to find out how he’s going to finish this story.”

When do you think the book will be finished? Tell us in the comments below!

Click to comment
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Trending